Parenting (No we’re not having kids…yet)

7 01 2011

I figured with a title like “Parenting” I would get a lot of questions about our plans to have children. We’re still waiting Mom. The way I look at it I already have 200+ kids and I don’t have to change their diapers.

With that out of the way, it seems like parenting has been a fairly large topic in my life recently. My best friends in San Diego are pregnant, my good friend and mentor just adopted a beautiful girl from Ethiopia, and then there’s my job. If you are in student ministry or have ever worked with students, you know you are working with FAMILIES. Parents look to YOU (mid 20’s with no children) for parenting advice. It feels a little weird but everyone involved knows you actually have something to offer. You are relevant, you understand the culture, and you can even figure out what is going on in the mind of a teenager from time to time. YOUR insight is valuable and parents trust you because you love part of their family.

Students are difficult creatures to work with and parents LIVE with them. I remember hearing my folks remind those around them “there is no handbook for parenting.” I understand that and my heart breaks for parents in difficult situations. In the last two weeks here at Cornerstone, I have heard about a family dealing with suicide, a family finding out about an affair, and many families experiencing broken trust because of decisions made by their son or daughter. Students go through addiction, abuse, messy relationships, ridicule, loss, manipulation, and so much more hurt on a daily basis. As parents discover these pains and burdens they have us to turn to.

My hope and prayer is that those of us that work with students and families will be present and available. I pray we will be wise, humble, and loving as we meet with and care for the people God has put in our lives. I pray we have individuals to confide in who love us and care for us as we minister and lead. And I pray God will flow through us as we counsel and advise in areas we have yet to experience ourselves.

“That’s all parenting is. Pretending you know what you’re talking about and then jamming it down their throats.” -Danny Devito in “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”

Actions

Information

One response

7 01 2011
Pam Ingold

Amen! But I thought for sure you were blogging to tell me you guys were pregnant! Love you Both…mom

Leave a Reply

