Talking Pet Rocks

14 04 2011

When I was five or six years old my grandfather gave me a Birthday present I will never forget.  Grandpa always gave great gifts while we were kids. We may not have recognized them as “great” at the time, but they were. Trust me.

My grandpa is a very skilled craftsman. He was a mechanic for something like 50 years before he retired and has never really stopped working on cars. He’s good with his hands (which always happen to be dirty and infused with grease somehow). There is another side to my grandpa that I didn’t always know about though. He’s extremely creative. I mean you would never think a retired mechanic would be someone who would create floral stained glass windows and lamp shades.  But like I said, he is creative and really good with his hands. He also has a great sense of humor.

These characteristics and abilities  shaped one of the most unforgettable presents I have ever received. You see, I had been asking for a pet that year. I wanted a dog, or a cat, or snake, or lizard or something I could call my own. Everyone knew I wanted a pet but no one came through. Somehow I knew my grandpa wouldn’t let me down. I just thought it was weird that he wrapped my pet up as tightly as he did. As I ripped through the paper, in a manner that would have undoubtedly killed any living creature within it, I realized I didn’t get what I expected. I definitely got a pet but not the kind I wanted.

“Pet Rocks” have now been an active part of my family for around 20 years. Maybe active is the wrong word, but they’re definitely still there somewhere. Inside of a handmade cage was a family of four. Four rocks, 8 eyes, and a label on the outside describing my new pets. I laughed and wasn’t disappointed at all. The gift meant something and I loved it.

Well, this Sunday is Palm Sunday. It’s one of those weekends where the church remembers an event or occurrence in the Bible. This particular Sunday remembers the day Jesus went down the road on the Mount of Olives. It is talked about in all four of the gospels but I want to focus on the passage in Luke a little bit. At one point the text says,

Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples!” “I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

Whenever I read this verse I think of my Pet Rocks. I don’t ever remember them crying out. I didn’t think they could. As we read through the story of Jesus’ triumphant entry we see a King who is worthy of worship. A king who has all the authority and doesn’t need us to proclaim his kingship for it to be true or real. Consequently, if we don’t acknowledge or proclaim his authority the stones will. That’s how big of a king he is. Inanimate objects will cry out His name.

I don’t know about you but I don’t want to give rocks a voice. I don’t want to be woken up one night by my pet rocks worshiping my Savior because I fail to do so. Jesus is another gift that meant something. Actually, it was a gift that means everything. He’s king and he deserves my worship. Pray for us as we try and communicate that message this weekend.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 04 2011
Pam Ingold

I still remember the look on your face when you opened it! Priceless!

28 03 2012
vasu

really creative, will do some to give gift.
thanks..

Leave a Reply

