i am…

15 06 2011

I am passionate. I am proud. I am arrogant. I am blessed. I am impatient. I am hurtful. I am married. I am broken. I am a pastor. I am a brother. I am a liar. I am joyful. I am a son. I am a friend. I am a sinner.

We can be defined by a lot of different words. We are complex individuals and most people don’t know how complex we actually are. Our stories are but a sentence, or maybe even a word, or letter, in the story of God. From that perspective  the stories our lives tell really don’t have too big of an impact in the long run. But that doesn’t mean they won’t leave an impression. I actually think our stories are pretty important.

I believe our stories can and do point to the “I AM”  (Exodus 3:14). However, we are often afraid to tell or share our stories with those around us. It takes too much vulnerability, too much honesty, and there are too many reminders of pain and struggle. We forget how powerful our stories can be. Stories of transformation, growth, triumph and victory. Examples of the ability to overcome. Evidence of what Christ has done and is continuing to do in our lives.

This month in our High School Ministry we are telling stories. I shared who I am last week and over the next few weeks our volunteer staff and students will be opening up as well. Our hope and prayer is to connect to one another in community, to grow and transform through vulnerability, to create the space for students to be honest with someone they can relate to, and to experience first hand what God is doing in and through the individuals in our ministry.

I can’t wait to see what comes of this series!! I am excited. I am hopeful. I am ready…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

